The layout

Posted: June 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

image

So everyone is probably wondering, what real estate do I have to work with? Here it is, my 4 foot x 8 foot table, in the back of my workshop. I do other things in here, mostly related to the hardware projects I undertake, which earns me the pocket money to buy the trains. Simple!

So in metric, the area I’m working with is 1200mm x 2400mm. I plan to have three loops of track, two standard gauge, and one 9mm narrow gauge (H0e). These three loops are controlled by two DC controllers, capable of delivering between 2.5 and 3 Amps over the three tracks. Obviously, the smaller controller has been put on the narrow gauge track – I probably won’t run double headers, but you never know, a TU2 and a TU4 double heading would be good.

On the inside of the three loops will be a number of buildings and environs, some of the industries I have are a lumber yard, a container yard (and eventual warehouse), a cement works and a brick works. The brick works will have a H0 “dummy” siding (an ActivDiarama) and H0f dummy tracks, depicting bricks being loaded off racks onto wagons.

The cement works will have the same siding, and a ChME2 shunter to depict a scene where a train is being assembled. On the other side of the table, the container yard, lumber yard, and station will have a H0 and H0e track, and will feature trans-shipment of containers, wood, and passengers. As to how much of this will fit, I’m unsure, but I’ll find out soon enough!

The rolling stock you can see is all Russian, a Piko Sapsan, Roco 2M62 and TE109, a Red Star Railways 2TE10U, two Marklin SZD wagons, a Modela SZD wagon, and two LS Models RZD passenger cars. That train, while looking unsightly (cement wagon after a passenger wagon?!) is my preferred setup for testing the tracks on the layout. Unsure of what I’m going to do about the H0e, I have a Zillertalbahn loco coming, but no train as of yet. And hopefully my TU2 will turn up soon!

Leave a Reply

